Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Hampshire harvest

I took this on Barton Farm late this afternoon. It's the closest place to home I see the harvesting. This year, I thought, would be particularly poignant as it could be the last harvest ever for the farm - 2,000 homes are due to go up on this land.

However, I talked to the lovely guy in this shot, who told me they expect the wrangling over detail to go on for some time and he thinks the farm will be here for several more seasons. Selfish, I know, but I hope he's right.

Meanwhile, I meant this to be a contrast to the harvest shot I took in Devon last week - both wheat harvests, but with such different ways of gathering (ironic it's the new way that will be disappearing). In Hampshire the most enormous harvesters are used, which shoot the separated corn though a pipe on the harvester straight into the trailers pulled by these tractors. Apparently even the thatching straw is gathered and loose-baled by large machines - no hand stooks here..

Enjoy what's left of your evening xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.