Health in a bottle

I figured I needed to give my body a little boost today, so got busy with the fruit bowl and my blender. It took me a while to get used to green smoothies, but now I love them. I just feel healthier as I glug it down. It tastes pretty good too.

This one has apple, pear, mandarin, banana, kiwi fruit and baby spinach. Another personal favourite is replacing the spinach with kale and the kiwi fruit with pineapple. Sometimes I put berries in them, but then the colour is rather more 'khaki' than bright green and it takes a little more gumption to take a sip! Tastes great though!

I don't do a lot of dairy, so milk and yoghurt aren't often used, just some spring rain water to loosen it up a bit. We're pretty basic around here. We can't drink the water out of the taps (well, I can't) because it's brown and makes me vomit! So, we raid the inlaws' rain tank on a regular basis to get our drinking, cooking water.

The table cloth was a joke for Mr Barking. He likes chickens, so I bought a $5 PVC table cloth for the kitchen table. He doesn't like it, but it's actually growing on me. The table is a very dark wood and this really brightens our little kitchen up!

I started a project, only to realise that I'd bitten off more than I could chew, so I'm going to downsize!

Then hubby took me to a wonderful Thai restaurant for dinner - I had vege Pad Thai with tofu. Man, it was good!

He's taking Cousteau off for a morning fishing trip at 6 am tomorrow. It'll be interesting to see how the red boy copes in a boat. It's probably best that I'm not going; he tends to be a big girl if I'm around! Much tougher when he's with the boys. Well, here's hoping ...

Night all.

Edit: Just noticed that I posted a pic of a green smoothie on this day last year! Funny how often coincidences like that happen when you've been blipping for almost seven years! Goes to show how life goes around in circles too.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.