My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Not a Drinker But.......

..........I've recently been seeing how many pubs I can find with unusual names or outstanding signage. The sign here is not special but I haven't come across many pubs called "The Hammer and Pincers!" - (tho' I think there is one in Sheffield) - and I wonder how it got it's name!

Did a metal worker or a farrier work there or very nearby?

More fancifully was there Lobster fishing in the area -
could it be to do with them - though the tools look a little heavy to deal with a lobster!

Yet again, was the pub famous for serving lobster?

It seems rather an odd name to give without a reason but, at the moment I remain in the dark.

Might have a hunt for some odd street names this weekend - I see them sometimes but never when I've got my camera with me!

Weather very good at the moment - think there was some rain overnight but sun shining now - temperature at 63 Deg.F.

Have great weekend everyone!...........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.