Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Male bullfinch

Usually the male and female come together, but today I've only seen the male, so I hope the female is all right. I used the Nikon 1 fitted with a 70-300mm Nikon lens via the FT1 adapter, giving the equivalent of an 810mm lens in full-frame terms. It is difficult avoiding issues of not only camera movement but also subject movement, and of course the small sensor means that noise becomes an issue if you try to use a high ISO - I'd really prefer to have been at ISO 400, and above 800 the noise is quite obtrusive.

Until I took this photo and worked on it I'd not noticed the colour of the bird's legs. It has been several times today and posed for me. My attempts to photograph the buzzards earlier were a complete failure - they only came when the light was poor and in completely the wrong direction, and they were moving about quite quickly, so that it was impossible to frame them and focus. A coal tit and nuthatch have been here too, but were moving about rather too quickly for me to get a satisfactory picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.