Shipmates or damsels??????

Why is it that pubs feel the need to give their toilets names other than ‘ladies’ & ‘gents’??

This evening we went to the 'Rum & Crab Shack' because 'Hurricane Bertha' was approaching it was a bit rainy and we’d heard that the Beach Bar was closed.

The humans settled themselves on the sofas for a bottle of Prosecco and then Ann said, ‘Molly, I’m just nipping to the loo. Amy will look after you’.

Well, Ann got to the first loo which said ‘shipmates’ on the door. Ann thought, ‘I don’t think I’m a ‘shipmate’ – I’ll see what’s further down the corridor’.

Further down the corridor was a door that said ‘Damsels’ so Ann thought, ‘Yes I’m definitely a damsel in distress’ so in she went. But there was a boy (about 12 years old) in there. Do 12 year old boys really need to go to the toilet with their mummy’s? So Ann thought maybe I’m a ‘shipmate’ after all and she did a quick retreat.

But then, before she ventured into the ‘shipmates’ toilet, she spotted another lady going into the ‘damsels’ toilet. So followed her!!!!!

Turns out Ann is a ‘damsel’ after all!!!!

However this opens up a whole new debate????? At what age do mummy’s allow little boys to go into public toilets by themselves and at what age is it inappropriate for little boys to go into female toilets??????

The other thing up for debate is………………………

Why?......................... when I’d been snoozing happily on the floor, did I feel the need to jump up on the sofa next to Amy when Ann went off to the toilet?????

………………..Ann was a little bit cross with me when she came back from the loo!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.