Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue

When I saw one of these chocolate brown female blue butterflies early one morning a few weeks ago it got me singing Crystal Gales's 70s hit.

The females are almost more striking than the males. When newly emerged, like this one, the colour is intense. To the naked eye they look 80% cocoa solids but the camera picks up on the fact that they are basically blue.

I think this is a silver studded blue. It figures as I shot it in an area in our disused carpark frequented by many more of its own kind. They tend to roost together in fairly tight groups and are known to associate with ants. I knelt in an anthill whilst taking my pic.

PS Disregard most of the above. :) Thanks to uniqueandlovely, backed up by PicNic, I now know this to be a brown argus. Both sexes of this blue butterfly are brown. As can be seen, the camera has picked up the underlying blue quality which is not as visible IRL. The diagnostic black spots on the wings can be seen clearly. I think this might be a female as the orange spots extend to the tips of the forewings?

I try my best to identify my subjects and am grateful for any help that I receive. :) I was thrown in this case as the butterfly was flying with blue blues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.