The sprint to the line

I've had a wonderful day out today in the Capital. I got an early train down to London so that I could watch the London Prudential Grand Prix Criterium cycle race for elite ladies which was the headline event on the first day of the Ride London cycling event.

My first port of call was going to be the Tower of London to see the amazing ceramic poppy field that is being created in the moat as a memorial to the fallen in World War One, but as I was getting off the train at Blackfriers I noticed lots of people cycling along the Embankment, so off I went to investigate. Apparently as part of the cycling event, there was a 10 mile circuit of closed roads for the public to ride along, from St James Park and Buckingham Palace right through past St Paul's Cathedral to the Tower of London. There were 1000's of people cycling from all ages and sizes. I saw some little kids still with there stabilizers on taking part, oh and some Panda's.

I walked along the route to the Tower, and saw the Poppy field installation called 'Bloodswept Lands and Seas of Red'. It was quite an amazing site to see and to consider each poppy will represent every British and Commonwealth soldier's life lost in the campaign. By November over 800000 will have been planted.

In the afternoon I made my way into St James Park ready for the Criterium racing. I managed to bag a spot right next to the start/finish line on the Mall, so I was able to see the three headlining riders Marianne Vos (Olympic and World Road Race Champion) Yorkshire's Lizzie Armitstead (Commenwealth Road Race Champion) and Laura Trott (Olympic and Commenwealth Track Champion) being interviewed on the start line.

The race was a 45 minute circuit race around St James Park, so the riders were passing by every few minutes. It was frantic and fast race, and it was ultimately decided by a sprint finish between Marianne Vos and Giorgia Bronzini, who pipped Vos on the line. Lizzie Armitstead finished third.

I'll add links to some other pics and comment later in the day when the rains come. Hope you stay dry

EDIT 1: A small selection of pictures from the Poppies at the Tower can be seen here
EDIT 2: A flavour of the Ride London
Edit 3: A Flavour of the racing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.