Life@theTop

By irunlykagirl

One step at a time

that's all I could tell myself as the alarm sounded at 5:30 this morning & I didn't want to do it. The thought of climbing heartbreak hill was enough to feel the burn... But I went along anyway, knowing I'd regret it if I didn't.

Having not actually planned ahead I arrived about an hour earlier than I needed to (note to self) Then we were off..down the long straight before climbing up in to the tunnel.

Calves screaming like a banshee, the first km was rubbish. This continued through kilometres 2, 3 & 4. Somewhere near km 5 & just before the hill began, the banshees died down. And the bladder was filling fast.

Whilst there may be port-a-loos every so often, the queues were long & the clock was running - it would have to wait.

7th km dusted & about 200m from the top of that hill, I see this guy going strong - both pleased that was over, but there were more to come. Round the sharp right, past the cemetery & the views to the right of Sydney Harbour in all it's glory before a little more undulation & descending the last 2km down into Bondi.

The event is all about charities. Donations often surpass $5million. But this guy was doing it with some peers just because they liked the added challenge. The deal was for 20kg packs in cam boots. PT-shirt or full rig was the choice. Whilst they ran their own race, they would slow & encourage before they'd pass.

A moment to reflect on the days trials & tribulations are by comparison insignificant to the family & friends CH, the runner who died just metres from the finish line aged 27. A burden that will take a lot longer to conquer than 14km.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.