Mikey88

By Mikey88

Hawker

I can't find a dragon fly exactly like this one in my book, but from descriptions, I think it is a form of hawker. I was working on the wall today, when I looked up and noticed this little chap sitting about two feet a way, quite unconcerned by my presence.

I carefully moved back and then went into the house, put the macro lens on and came back out again, to find it still sitting in the same place. I began taking pictures from a distance and gradually moved closer until I got as close as I could. It still didn't move, so I took pictures of it from all sorts of angles. Eventually, it lifted off, flew in a circle and came back to the wall in a slightly different position. Cue more photographs.

It stayed for most of the afternoon as I sawed and hacked at the roots of the tree which have embedded themselves in the wall. It took off occasionally, but always came back to the same part of the wall. I wondered if it was newly hatched and was strengthening its wings, but there isn't any water close to the wall, so I think it was just enjoying the warmth of the stones in the hot sun. It eventually flew off across the neighbours garden, leaving me with a collection of beautiful close ups.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.