Derek

It's been a productive two days of filming with 35 interviews now in the can!
Such a privilege to be the recipient of so many responses to peoples careers;
from those who have spent a lifetime in their profession and other who are just embarking. Now we have some serious editing ahead.

As I returned to studio this evening to back up all our digital media files I remembered this poem which seemed particularly apt ..... the ability to listen.


How to Listen

I am going to cock my head tonight like a dog
in front of McGlinchy's tavern on Locust;
I am going to stand beside the man who works all day combing
his thatch of gray hairs corkscrewed in every direction.
I am going to pay attention to lives
unravelling between the forks of his fine tooth comb.
For once we won't talk about the end of the world
or Vietnam or his exquisite paper shoes.
For once, I am going to ignore the profanity and
the dancing and the jukebox so I can hear his head crackle
beneath the sky's stretch of faint stars


Marjorie Jackson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.