Dive

Backblip

Still raining. And blowing a gale. We abandoned the idea of camping.
We hit the Southend of Kintyre first thing after breakfast. Lots of caves and places named after St Columba. Then we went over to Machrihanish, another of my old stomping-grounds.
I once saw one of those inflatable globes, like a beach-ball, where the only two places named in the whole of Britain, were London and Machrihanish. I think it must have been a US beach-ball, because there used to be an enormous USAF base there. The runway was so large that it was one of the alternative landing places for the Space Shuttle if circumstances dictated...
Now it's all about golf.
We spent a lovely hour or two watching the seabirds. I have always wanted to get that iconic shot of a gannet (Sula bassensis) plunge-diving from height. I will try again another time, but this will do for a start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.