CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Sparrowhawk Shelter - This Way!

I glanced out of our kitchen window this morning at about 10:30, and what should I see?

An absolutely beautiful sparrowhawk was perched on the grape vine that is entwined around our pergola.

I don’t know how long he had been there, but I quickly ushered Hector and Ziggy out of the kitchen in case they spotted him through the glass door and frightened him off. He was obviously sheltering from the heavy rain, as it is dry under the pergola, because of all the thick vine leaves.

Luckily I had “the big lens” already on my camera (as opposed to “the little lens” – I’m not very good with the techy bits).

After I spotted him, he was there long enough for me to take about 20 or so photographs.

We have often seen sparrowhawks flying past here, and buzzards are above the garden much of the time, especially on warm days, but this is the first time we have seen one parked as it were.

In the bag!! I can now relax for the remainder of the day………………………….

Oh, no! In my excitement I almost forgot that I still have to do the ironing and cleaning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.