The culprit

A week or two ago we received notification that our nearby main road was to be resurfaced and the work would be done at night so the road would be closed from 8 pm until 6 am. Last night was the first sign of anything happening and I could hear a rumble, rather like continuous thunder. Although we are one road away it was really quite loud. After I had gone to bed I could also hear a rattling noise in the loft, and discovered that the house was vibrating! Ours is a very solidly built house and we are not close to the road being resurfaced. It must be horrendous for those living next to the works! Glad to say it didn't keep me awake.
A very happy afternoon cheered me when dear friends from way back called in for a cup of tea. We see them about once a year and on parting this afternoon we both said that we wished we lived nearer to each other. I must check my diary and see when they can come and stay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.