A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Kingmaker

Peasant: Well, how'd you become king, then?

King Arthur: The Lady of the Lake, her arm clad in the purest shimmering samite, held aloft Excalibur from the bosom of the water, signifying by divine providence that I, Arthur, was to carry Excalibur. That is why I am your king.

Peasant: Listen. Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government.

Monty Python.

--
This wittering relates to boardgames. Tonight was our last ever mid-week games session in this house; with Paul, Julian, and for a first visit (OK, so that's a bit bad timing) Stephen. Paul cooked an excellent Indian meal for us.

The main game of the evening was Shadows over Camelot a cooperative games with an Arthurian theme. We won easily, which is somewhat of a surprise.

Last time I died rather quickly.

This time I had the Excalibur piece on my side.

--
The semi-tenuous link through the title is that one of the first 'hobbyist' level games I played, at University, was Kingmaker. A game that resulted some of my rare appearances at hall breakfast - as the game frequently went on all night.

Ah those were the days knights.

--
The background/base is a spare print of one of S's artworks. I intended just a plain blue but the fish were too tempting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.