Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Get a room!

I pressed Big Daddy into service today on my walk ... should have taken a shorter lens since most of what I saw lent itself to macro, not 500 mm. But, you shoot with what you have, right?

If I am correct in my assumptions, the silver-spotted skipper on the left is a male and he's trying diligently to have his way with the female on the right. Just in case you are wondering, she wasn't having ANY of that. Nope, she sent him on his way. Interestingly, I saw something similar a short while later in my own yard with two cabbage white butterflies. Maybe it is the time of year when the lady butterflies start saying "no sirree, bub."

In an effort to remember that I am capable of photographing more than just hummingbirds, all of my photos today were of insects. I posted my 8 favorites on Flickr, starting here with a new (for me) dragonfly.

I decided that I should start trying to acclimate the cats to the car in preparation for the 1100 mile trip that we'll be taking next month. It didn't go well. I never even got out of the garage with either cat. Phoebe panicked, started yowling in a way that made you think she was being killed, and tried to seek refuge under the gas pedal. Rocket did okay for about a minute before he started snarling in a way that made me think I might be killed. So, I guess we'll approach this in tiny baby steps. Each day we'll spend a minute in the car - hopefully no lives will be lost. A prayer or two might be in order, or at least some good juju.

One more sleep until I fly to FL for the weekend. Hubs and I are both looking forward to it. Of course, in Hubs' case, he is also hoping I will hunt down the Palmetto Bug that he found yesterday in the townhouse. Welcome to FL, where the cockroaches are the size of Boeings, and fly.

Happy Thursday, people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.