middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

LARP

LARP or Live Action Role Play is exactly what it looks like, which is to say a bunch of people dressing up in medieval outfits and hitting each other with fake weapons. I got invited to go check it out by a friend on Holly's side, Ben. I had nothing on and so quickly agreed.

The LARP was at Princes Park in Parkville and so I got there early and ran three laps around the park which equated to about nine and a half kilometres. It was a completely flat path and so I got into a nice groove and it was a very enjoyable run.

After that I met up with Ben and the fake violence began, with the two of us merely spectating. While it was exactly as nerdy as you would expect most people did seem to be having a large amount of unabashed fun. The highlights were fake Scottish accents, various arguments of "I hit you", "no you didn't", hearing someone say "I think I'm going to try some new healing spells today", and then finally seeing a thirty year old woman dressed up as a fairy who had the a ability to heal go up to fallen warriors and sing at them while waving her wand about them for a few minutes until they were deemed healed. It doesn't get better than that.

I captured these two heroes before they headed into battle.

- Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.