A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

A moment and an era

This picture was taken on the way to school pick-up this afternoon. I was just thinking how little I have blipped my locality and how I was afraid I wouldn't do it justice. I think it is beautiful in many ways but I'm not sure they are ways that I would be able to capture with my limited photographic skills. Anyway, sometimes Anna holds my hand when scooting and I sort of fling her forward to give her a bit of a free-wheel. I started taking pictures on my iPhone and decided that this showed off our route to school well enough to make it onto blip.

I also got a little sentimental as we are nearly half-way through this school year and that means getting towards the end of an era of me and Anna time. She's in nursery every morning but is done by 11.30am and this gives us a good chunk of time just me and her, hanging out. I work three days a week so this happens on Mondays and Fridays and they are really special days for me (and I think for her too). It has been very important for our bonding as being the second child she didn't get a great deal of one-on-one time until J went to school. I know she is very excited about going to the same school as her brother and her main complaint about nursery is that it is not long enough and it is "not fair that Jackson gets to go all day" (which will no doubt come back to haunt her one day, well, if I remember it, it will ;-)) But it will be strange for me to make this journey on my own to collect both of them. I will, of course, get used to it - I was a wreck the day Jackson started in reception but it didn't last long! And I am taking it as a positive to make sure I relish the time I have with Anna and don't take it for granted.

So this picture captures a moment and an era.

Right, enough sentimentality, I have to go and make myself presentable for a night out with Carl - a play at our local fringe theatre - above the pub at the end of our road and off to try out a new Persian restaurant for dinner. It's our first night out just the two of us since before Christmas and I can't wait.

Lesley x



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.