A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Slime!

Turns out neither of my kids had touched slime. That seemed wrong but not to panic as situation now rectified.

After our usual Sat morning start we headed off to Chelsea for Jack's 6th birthday party. The pre-party anticipation was slightly marred for J as the responsibility of having recommended the entertainer (MM) dawned. A quick chat revealed that success, in J's mind, hinged on MM doing the "bubble trick". MM and the trick did not disappoint. Imagine considerable more build up.....a perfectly innocent looking bubble is blown and when it is caught becomes a glass ball. I appreciate magic tricks don't translate well to the written word so I shall refrain from describing any others. MM was one of those marvellous breed who keep both children and adults equally captivated. Some really impressive stuff, how he made snooker balls appear in the gaps in his fingers I will never know. Ooops, another magic trick. Moving on.

Fast forward to this afternoon and me, the kids and a science kit.

Experiment 1 - make an asteroid and thrown around on the surface of the moon making craters (baking tin filled with flour*). Quick, simple, fun, enjoyed by all.

Experiment 2 - make slime monster with googly eyes. Ditto.

Experiment 3 - make mini planetarium. Long, fiddly, two children wander off, responsible grown up left sticky, out of patience, 90 mins older. Need to wait until bedtime and proper darkness to see if it was worth it. I'm not hopeful.

Regained sanity with a deep bubble bath and a good book. Carl is on curry duty again and I am already salivating at the thought of prawn bhuna.

I know it's a cliche to say I love the weekned. But I do.
Lesley x


*I'm not saying the surface of the moon is a baking tin filled with flour. This is the suggested method for recreating it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.