But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Teasel.

Friday, being shopping day, is somewhat disrupted. Mrs TD was out in the morning at a training day for the start of the new year at the local Riding for the Disabled group, something to do with the use of mounting blocks. We had planned to meet for lunch before going shopping but the training programme somewhat over-ran. Since I had left my phone at home on charge, we couldn't make contact so I was just on my way collect it and find out what was happening when Herself arrived.

Normally, the girl who takes the lunch orders tells me what we're having, I upset the system by deciding to have a "Ploughman's Lunch" instead of the usual; her response, "You used to have that quite often." She probably has a thousand customers a week and yet remembers what I had for lunch a year ago.

The teasel was blipped while on Merlin’s walk this morning, it is in one of the wild flower meadows that we created a few years ago; I find it fascinating that plants like this have an open band of florets that progressively “walks” up the flower spike, particularly so when the spike is as compact as it is here. Having said that, not a million miles away from this specimen is one where all the florets are open at once. I did find it difficult to make the specimen stand out from the background, there were stages where it looked very artificial, but I hope the result doesn’t look too bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.