Leanne's Random Photos

By Leannespics

EggARTH!

Ben made his own scrambled eggs this morning. Added blue food coloring. Don't they look yummy?

Part II of the "Suspension Story":

I spent 2 1/2 hours in the front office waiting and talking. The principal was very busy today and had to run in and out. She called on 4 kids to give their accounts of the incident. 3 of them (including the boy who got hurt) said Ben did it on accident. One said he was mad at the boy for knocking over a sand fort and did it on purpose.

My biggest concern was that I think he was misunderstood. They asked him if he poked the kid with a stick. Well, yes, he did. Techincally, yes. He had a stick in his hand and the kid ran into it. But they didn't ask him if he did it on purpose or accident. Also, he ran away to hide after it happened, and that makes him look guilty. But that is a normal response for an eight year old! He said he wasn't angry at him and he is his friend. So it hardly sounds like he should go down with an "Assault" note on his record. And I kept hearing the in-charge teacher say, "Well, this isn't his first offense." And that sounds like he may have been treated unfairly. It's not an "offense" if it was an accident.

I was able to get them to take the suspension away and they let him in school. But they still gave him 4 days with no recess. He was quite upset with that. I really think he would have rather been suspended for this rainy day than to go 4 days of sitting in the office, missing out on social time and play. And for a kid with ADHD who has issues with making friends, I really don't feel that would be an appropriete consequence for an accident. I am crossing my fingers that he makes it through next week without some sort of outburst of frustration that he has no recess and then get supended for acting out!

The other boys parents spoke with Ben's teacher to tell her that her son is just fine and he feels Ben did not poke him on purpose.

So after stressing out all day, I still have to resolve it with the principal on Monday. I had our bunco night with my friends tonight. I'm glad I didn't talk about it at all and I was able to calm down.

AND! I won 20 bucks for having the most "baby buncos" (three in a row of another number) AND won the basket of goodies for having a bunco at the very end!! Yahoo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.