Last of the cherries

All good things must come to an end and so it is with the cherry season.

Some can't resist chocolate, but with me it's cherries (followed by fresh apricots). I adore cherries and once had the good fortune in a house with a cheery tree. I spent hours sitting up in it eating cherries.

Then there was the year I preserved cherries in brandy and run. They became famous on account of the lack of added sugar and alcohol content. Consumed on their own they blew your hair back and made your eyes water, but with vanilla ice cream and fruit crumble they were superb.

But enough reminiscing, tomorrow I fly to Dunedin after work. A quick one night trip to celebrate my godson's 9th birthday. I have a bag to pack and play lunch to prepare for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.