Poker night

After a solid twelve hours sleep we had Sam, Alex and chloe out for lunch. I was still wiped out though and ended up having to go for another couple of hours sleep after lunch.

At night I headed into town for a poker night at Ray's house for his stag do. After an initial false start due to a vommunication mixup I headed in around eleven and bumped into Derek from the lifeboat crew who very kindly gave me a lift in to Barnton.

While I was nowhere close to winning, it was a good game with good company and a couple of drinks. I headed to grab the last bus home at Barnton at half last three, but it was running late. I moaned about it on Facebook and within a few minutes got an offer of a lift from Mike and Megan from the lifeboat crew who had just got back after being tasked to the punk festival on Crammond at half past midnight.

It was an amazing offer, so kind of them as they must have been exhausted, and despite the fact that I was already on a bus they still surprised me by picking me up after I got off the bus in Queensferry and dropping me off at home. There was a worry that as the tidal cut off was at 5.30 am we may get a third shout of the night so, as it was after four already, and the duty crew had been out twice on long shouts that night I got my bike prepped and ended up sitting up watching TV until six am just in case. Thankfully there were no more shouts though.

A huge thank you to Derek and Mike and Megan for the lifts though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.