..::pixelatedpete::..

By pixelatedpete

must. wear. blue.

first tutorial of the new law course today up at Oxford Brookes a top what is probably the only hill of note in the whole of Oxford. I parked in town and walked up - you go along the edge of the park and in the morning mist everything looked quite pretty.

Pretty isn't a word I'd use for Brookes campus though! Pretty ugly maybe. Having said that, I really liked it up there. There is a familiarity about 1960s college buildings - mostly because I did most of my school years and a-levels in them! There is also a sense of creativity and vibrance that you just don't get from old buildings. There is no weight of tradition to stifle freedom of expression in those places I guess. Still, I prefer Thames Valley University's Slough campus to the University of Bath - admittedly most likely because of the potato wedges - so I'm probably no judge.

Oxford Brookes is clearly a progressive place too - there are recycling bins (for paper, plastic, cans, etc.) inside *every* classroom - and the building work going on up there proclaims its eco credentials, as does the sculpture/seating that was to be the blip until I saw this funny sign!

Can you guess the missing word?

The tutorial went well too - we looked at the legal definition of "Treasure". Some people even laughed when I said it should include things "obtained through the slaying of monsters". Pretty interesting that kind of thing. Legal language is pedantic in its inaccuracy. I like it. I only have a small knot in my belly when I think about having to do an assignment and all the reading, but it is one of excitement rather than fear! :-)

(back blipped yesterday too...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.