DEILEPHILA ELPENOR

this caterpillar kind of called me. Or so I thought when I sat on the balcony and suddenly felt that urge to walk in the valley, visit my favoured garden in the Bridge Street. I had found there often the dragonflies, the beautiful flowers and a moment of joy.
The reed around the little pond had been cut, I now found out. No dragonflies or even no waterlilies, white or pink.
When I turned around I spotted the caterpillar, the huge, dark one, quietly eating a bite of a little leaf of a high grown flower plant. One simply could not overlook this amazing one. I came near and started taking pictures, many from different angles too. It was windy and I held the stem firmly, had to discard a leaf or two, but in the end I knew one of these pictures would have to be my blip for today.
I never saw such a huge (ugly?) caterpillar, although the one I had found yesterday on our walk (not my blip-photo however) had looked very much alike this one, only that the colour of her had been bilious green. She had walked slowly on the road and had disappeared in the grass soon enough.

My haiku:

A windy day in
August, to meet this awkard
Creature by surprise

And the proverb:

Put out your tubs when it is raining.

1721 in J. Kelly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.