Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Machen Monday & Friendly Fellas

Last night the middle floor lighting went off. It didn't trip the fuse box. All we needed!

This morning I phoned the electrician who did all the rewiring for our extension, who also fixed the same problem about five years ago, that existed before he started his job. He guessed straight away what it was and where; a bad earth in the rear bedroom. Anyway, after not having spoken to him since then, he remembered me and said he'd come out this evening.

Then my electric gate jammed open and I couldn't manually overide it as the lock was seized. I raided some batteries from the tv remote and got it shut.

The blip picture is taken on Mynydd Y Grug common that links my village, Machen with Blackwood. I like the way the dry stone wall leads in to the tree.

I made a trip to Home Bargains and bought a pack of extra power AAA batteries and fixed the gate.

This evening the electrician, Mike, turned up and said he'd start with the fuse box. Well, as soon as he put a screwdriver to the upstairs lighting trip fuse, the lights came on! He still wanted the cuppa and sat chatting for a good hour, mostly about holidays. it was way gone 7pm when he left and I had to force some money on him. Great service from a genuine person. Not so usual these days.

My brother can't make the Cardiff v Wigan game tomorrow. I texted the chap who I befriended on Saturday, Ray from Llanelli, and he said he'd love to have the ticket. We arranged to meet at 7.25pm outside the ticket office. Another lovely guy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.