Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Yahala

... which means "Welcome" in Arabic.

This was one of my favourite restaurants until a few years ago when they kept raising the price of their shawarmas and fresh juices (and other items as well) that it became much less of a quick meal fixt! That and getting a new chef who changed the way the sandwich was made/wrapped/tasted... anyway; they are a local Lebanese restaurant who always had very friendly waiters and delicious food at a reasonable price and people from all nations ate here. When SweetArt visits in October, she will want to eat here every night!

Today they were quite empty; and that isn't only because it is still August and Dubai is still quite empty. Constant price increases/inflation mean this essentials restaurant is becoming a treat for most who live in the neighbourhood.

I was supposed to go with my friend from work, and her son (who is learning to play the saxophone), to listen to the lady who plays at the Mall. I called the restaurant to double-check she was there and was told that she isn't! :( She had to stop during Ramadan (as entertainment is not allowed) and it seems that her contract has been suspended; which is a real shame, as for us, it was a definite draw to the restaurant. I came home instead and got on with things in the flat to get ready for Gs return which is in 2 days! Yikes!

... And I actually went through all the pictures from the summer holiday and edited and posted them on my FB page! Haven't done that in ages. There has been interest in my pictures/posters by two different people, so I need to choose some to present to them. :)

Hoping to get an earlier night. My blip is of course of my meal tonight.. chicken shawarma in Yahala's own special saj bread. It is incredibly light and the shiny bit is not an extra layer of cling film, but shows just how thin it is. The two little brown circles are falafel. For some reason, they've punched holes into them. All washed down with fresh orange juice! It's quite healthy really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.