Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Quattro

That is the number of red feathers this juvenile male ruby-throat is showing. By next spring, if he survives, he'll have a full red gorget to help him attract the lady-hummies. And, maybe he will end up back here on Tallyho Lane to battle it out with P-Hummie for yard rights. All speculation, of course... First, he has to get fat enough to make the long trip to Mexico this fall. You can see him practicing his take-off here...

In between chores and work, I had some productive sorties in the garden and have posted five other shots starting HERE on Flickr. Birds, bees and bugs.

Thanks to Mom for the idea ... I bought a poached salmon filet (mostly for me, for dinner) and flaked off a few bits of it which I put in a dish in the back of my car. I then toted each cat out to the "place of fear and death" and fed them a bit of salmon. Their natural love of fish was sufficient to stop the yowling and snarling for long enough to snarf up the treat. I will now do this several times a day in my ongoing effort to get them used to the car. My hope is that they start to associate the car with treats rather than trips to "the bad place" (aka: vet).

We are continuing to have cooler than normal temps this summer which results in gorgeous weather. I am hating that I can't be outside all day - but I have much to do inside to get ready for the move.

Good news - no signs of the bear today. I am hopeful that he's moved on. Several of you asked if I should call the game warden but I am hesitant to do so since it might well result in them killing the bear. Of course, if he hangs around, I'll have no choice as it isn't wise to share the garden with a several-hundred pound bear. I shall continue to be watchful until I'm certain he's traveled on.

Eight more sleeps until hubs arrives for a long weekend. And, this weekend Kura, Peg and (hopefully) Ellen will be coming out for a girl's weekend. Much fun!

Happy Hump Day...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.