The North Court, Emmanuel College.

I had time to have a really good look at this building as I was waiting for a bus opposite, which I haven't used before. I have passed by this way for many years, but hadn't really noticed how old it looked, especially the door. It is actually part of Emmanuel College, which is behind me, and can be reached from the main college buildings by an underground passage beneath Emmanuel Street. The college was founded in 1584 on the site of a former Priory and this door leads to the old Cloister block and North Court. I will see if it is possible to have a look in there but it will depend where the tunnel entrance is and whether the public are allowed in that part. The people seem to be hurrying to the bus station which is only a short way along the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.