Enduring

Today was a juggling act of carpet EQR (Fletchers), my insurance company, work and the general tasks of life.

I had 10 minutes of heady relief after an early meeting at home where it was agreed to replace my carpet. But then the phone calls began.

EQC has insurance but it's only indemnity insurance so I would need to lodge a claim with my insurance co.

Why? Why not the contractor? "That's the process" was the answer. I talked to my insurance co and they won't touch it. Why should they? An accident covered up by a non-professional cutting my carpet somewhere else and swapping bit of carpet around. Then a professional repairer taking it upon himself to cut a second piece of carpet in my lounge without talking to the project manager or me.

Stalemate. An agreement to replace my carpet but no one is prepared to take responsibility. A bit more endurance is required on my part, along with a bit of slow, deep breathing. Oh, and calm stubbornness to stop me being bullied into signing off.

We shall see. In theory there is enough time to put this right before I shift home middle of next week. These guys have the contacts to make it happen quickly. I'm still hopeful and optimistic.

It was lovely walking into my home early this morning and seeing how fresh and good it looks. The walls and finish are great and my home is now water tight. Yes, I'm paying for the roof but I'll never lose on that. And I can see I will reconnect with my little castle and it will feel like home and sanctuary again.

Dinner and a beer with the fisher/hunter tonight. He's still amazed I got away with my little episode last Sunday where I drowned my car keys and everything electronic attached. Me too :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.