An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Bath Spa...

...and Pulteney Bridge.

Monday 18th August

I had been yearning to return to my beloved Bath for a while and with a bad head - and not just headache - and achingly tired too, felt it that the first train to this famous World Heritage City was just the (rail) ticket.

At shortly after 7 a.m. it was nicely quiet, at least on my walk round on the far side of the canal and back round toward the famous and iconic Pulteney Bridge, which is to the right of the shot. Lovely little shops and boutiques nestle on top of both sides of this road bridge. Nice in LARGE

From about this point on, I saw my first other, rival tourist!!!! From then on, and very much increasingly so, their number vastly increased and the volume of human bodies thickened to quite an uncomfortable level within a couple of hours.

I had taken just two old lenses, that I almost never use now, as they are fast zooms for FX. So, on my DX D7000, the Sigma EX 24-70mm f2.8 (used here) became a modest 36mm equivalent but its sister lens, Sigma's EX 70-200mm f2.8 was to be a useful capturer of street shots. Both of these lenses are just so well built and handle so beautifully, they really made a difference to my enjoyment levels.

Well, that was my intention but in the end - and in the heat - I just felt a bit lazy and went with the flow. I did venture into Bath Abbey for the first time though - my last trip to Bath and its subsequent Blip was of a Royalty persuasion and as I had waited for ages to get their close-up, had to post it as my Blip. As they - and a whole heap of others - were attending a service in the Abbey, then it was closed to mere mortals, such as myself.

This touristy, jig-saw image of Bath was in effect chosen by my friend Des. He and I had a wonderful day out on Thursday (Blip to come) and I had sent him an email with 10 unedited 'proof' images from Bath. Despite more arty ones, one with a hot air balloon and some just reflections, he chose this. He is an engineer by training though doesn't do that professionally any more. He also enjoys his arts and definitely knows what he likes.

The sun was a bit weak, so I bolstered up the contrast, but which clogged up the shadow areas, so I separately lightened them, except for the extreme right, as I wanted that area to frame the image. I also upped the saturation up a little; bath stone is wonderfully warm and honey-coloured, when the sun is on it.

Shortly afterwards, that top ledge would have buses, coaches and masses of people looking down - so I was lucky to get in position before they did!

I only just put up yesterday's Old Sarum sunrise Blip. But I am itching to get outside now for today's (23rd) Blip and the sun is out! So, if you haven't seen it, go back one and I will see you all and catch up later!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.