Ripples

Today Chris, Alex and a group of friends set off for a cottage next to the River Usk close to the Brecon Beacons. The doorbell rang at 10.30am when the first people arrived and amazingly they were all packed and ready to go by 11.15. Seven of them squeezed into the Galaxy, driven by one of Chris's friends. He'd never driven such a big car before, but has seven years of experience and has never had an accident, so I'm confident he'll be fine.

The house seemed very quiet once they'd gone, but Pete and I filled the time by going to the DIY shop to buy some paint, some patching concrete and some tiles. When we got back I grouted the mosaic round the mirror in the bathroom, and then tried to put some tiles behind the new cooker. The grouting went well - the tiling less well - new adhesive required!

Late in the afternoon Ben and I went into Peterborough, and had a leisurely coffee before doing a bit of clothes shopping. He's lost even more weight and lots of his clothes are a bit big, so it was time for a new hoodie and another t-shirt. I also bought a hoodie, as the evenings are getting rather chilly now.

While Pete cooked dinner, I took Rosie to the Rowing Lake for an evening walk. Nothing really caught my eye, but I always find rippling water very relaxing - repetitive patterns are a bit like visual white noise! And here's an appropriately titled song which figured large in my teens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.