High tide at sunrise

I didn't expect to be up in time for this today. I didn't get to sleep until about 0100 am. However, for whatever reason, I woke not long after 0600, so I got up and ran down to Whisper Cove. On the way back the sun began to rise above the cloud bank on the horizon through the gap between Tawharanui Peninsula and Kawau Island. S has told me yet again that I take too many photos, making the choice difficult.

I picked this one (good seen large) because the sun was fully risen and blinding unless blocked; as here by a pohutukawa tree.

The reason I was so late going to sleep was that yesterday afternoon we drove back to West Auckland from the beach for Sandra's niece's daughter's 12th birthday; late afternoon BBQ. We had expected daughter C and the two boys to also be there. But C was too sick with a wheezy chest from an infection she has been unsuccessfully fighting for a few weeks.

Started back to the beach house, and then thought that I needed to go and see for myself just how bad she was . Backtracked and arrived at her home as the last try was being scored at Eden Park only 800 m away. Stadium lights and crowd noise were pretty massive. (I'd more or less forgotten that the game was on!)

I didn't like the sound of her breathing, so left S with the boys while C and I went to the Accident and Medical Centre at Ascot. I figured that the public hospital ED would be full of drunken and broken bodies. Ascot was empty when we arrived, and she was seen straight away. Even so, I watched more than half of the delayed telecast of the game while I waited for her.

C was much better after a deal of nebuliser, and I took her home. She was much less anxious, knowing that she was "allowed" to use more bronchodilator than she had been told by the GP. After ensuring she was fit to be left, we drove north, arriving after midnight. After having an uncomfortable night she is better now, as the new medications have started to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.