Life within the Lens

By Brittany

One cup at a time

For the last few months I have been consumed browsing some of my favorite blogs and websites for inspiration designing my niece (Nora's) nursery. My sister, who says her artistic talent consists of drawing a stick figure, turned to me for help on the nursery. We have come up with a vintage/modern design that I have fallen in love with. We not only put together some creative ideas, but we have also been quite thrifty!! I found one nursery on Ohdeedoh and we have taken a few ideas from that and are running with it. I find myself on sites I never knew existed. Buying beautiful fabric at great deals and dreaming about making vintage owl pillows that have the names Stella and Stewart =) I have been enjoying it so much that I find myself on the weekends at thrift stores, antique shops and flee markets. I know my parents would be proud that I am following in there footsteps as they both enjoy antique shopping. I simply love the thought of turning something old and damaged into something beautiful while keeping all the character. Most importantly, I feel, is we are doing an amazing job of making everything ourselves and reusing beautiful furniture.
My husband noticed how much I've been enjoying the decorating and designing that he encouraged me to start a website. We are in the beginning stages of it, but it will be a place where I can show my art and all the little crafts I've been inspired to do. I'm really excited to see where this all leads. Pictures to come of the nursery in April when it is all complete.
This leads me to my blipfoto of the day. I'm going to be using this photo at the top of my website. Since I want to show Do it Yourself crafts and re-worked antiques I've decided the title of the blog will be Imperfected Perfection (thanks to Delores for the inspiration of the title). I thought these little vintage inspired measuring cups were so cute!! I'll let you all know when it all comes together!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.