Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Ice Bucket Challenge


Today is a Bank Holiday and up until about 5pm it hasn't stopped raining. My wife is on afternoon shift; she likes working Bank Holidays for the extra money and an extra day off. She says going anywhere on a BH is miserable anyway, and I suppose she's got a point.

I made her sandwich and salad box and then the phone went off to do a trip to Pontypool. No sooner had I got on the M4 at Tredegar Park, Newport, the traffic was slow moving. I think it was largely people travelling home early due to the rain.

I passed over the motorway about an hour later and the traffic delays were even worse. The wife was right. I think Bank Holidays are best for lounging around the house if it's raining or doing something local that doesn't involve travelling.

On Friday, a friend nominated me to do the Macmillan Cancer appeal which they call the #IceBucketChallenge . It seems to be all the rage at the moment with many of my Facebook Friends, relatives, and many famous people doing their videoed challenge as proof, and nominating others!

It was raining which didn't really matter as I was going to get soaked. Straight after I went for a run, so a hot shower afterwards was very welcome. I've texted my donation to Macmillan. I wonder if those I nominated will take up the challenge!

Thanks to all those who gave me stars and hearts or even left lovely comments on yesterday's aerial picture of Caerphilly Castle. It seems that many of you are also big fans of Aldi/Lidl and realise they offer great value and quality. It also seems many of you like Tyrell crisps as much as me!

Now the day is almost over, it stopped raining. Typical!

The blip photo is a capture taken from the video done on my little Nikon V1 camera of me doing the #IceBucketChallenge. Anyone else done it?


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.