WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

You just don't listen

It was tough getting up at 5am this morning. It was cold. I pressed snooze.

Still managing to be out by 6am and with the sun still not appearing over the tops, I headed past Brothers Water & up Dovedale Beck towards Hart Crag. Despite starting off feeling very autumnal, there was no breeze and I was soon back to my summer short sleeved top.

The first glimpse of sunlight touching the tops was breathtaking but I knew my camera wouldn't do that justice so I just stamped it in my memory and continued up to the ridge. As I looked over towards Windermere, I saw what I was hoping there might have been in Patterdale... A cloud inversion... Not huge, but soft and beautiful. I continued up towards Fairfield, meeting an early runner coming the other way. He was in shorts. I was in gloves.

I often march round the hills but today, I dawdled. It was the perfect day for it. Striding Edge would soon be mobbed and I wasn't surprised to see a rescue helicopter flying away from there later in the day but right then, it was bathed in sunshine & weightless. Light clouds were drifting behind the peaks but the sun was taking control.

I watched a shepherd moving his sheep round with the help of his collie. I thought the dog was doing well but later on, I heard a shout, "You just don't listen when I ask you to do something! ...Do you? ...Never!" The collie skulked in behind him pretty quickly. Little Dog and I very nearly did the same!

St Sunday Crag ridge was heavenly and we meandered on down, avoiding Patterdale village itself, and ambled back along the track to the hut.

One of the best things about an early start is the day feels endless. No laptop. Just an RSPB magazine, a photography magazine, a sleeping dog and endless cups of peppermint tea. Perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.