WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Nearly didn't

Rich had to go back yesterday but I decided to stay up and see what the weather was doing today. The forecast when I left was not good. Last night, I set the alarm early in the hope that I might beat the bad weather. Lights out at 8pm.

1.30am Rain on the roof. Turn off alarm.
6am Feed dog. Go back to sleep.
8am Stir. Hear drizzle. Jeans on.

Feeling good after 12 hours of pretty good sleep, I looked out to find grey cloud and uninviting mountains.

A chap staying in the hut was leaving for work so I offered to put the barrier up for him as the road is a pain to get out. He asked me what I was doing today.

"I might go up Place Fell before heading home."

Why did I say that?
For then it had to be done.

After getting changed back into my walking gear, I took Wainwrights favourite path up which overlooks Ullswater, Glenridding and Helvellyn - very pretty especially when the steamer went by.

This gentle cascade was a pleasant little surprise en route.

Done it was. Enjoyed it was. And I didn't get wet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.