Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Little Weed

A traumatic day getting the friend to bring his trailer to help us distribute The Mother's possessions around various places.

When I set up a home of my own, I was delighted to be able to go to the local saleroom and sit all day to bid for all sorts of oddments to furnish it. It would seem these days young folk are not as easily pleased and salerooms turn down things they think they can't sell. They referred me to a charity that say they "prevent 700 tonnes of reusable furniture from going into Cumbrian landfill sites each year". They said they couldn't sell some of my things, either. That brought tears to my eyes.

The best stop was our visit to the care home when The Mother squealed with delight upon seeing her reclining chair being wheeled into her room. When she had first moved there she had been too poorly to care about anything and didn't seem to want her favourite chair.

This is a shot of a foxglove growing between paving stones at her bungolw. It is a wild one growing where it shouldn't, but she would have loved to have seen it flowering next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.