Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Once a month I bake a desert for the Meal Program that's run by churches that are located throughout the city. Each church takes 1 day a month to prepare & serve a meal at the free dinner site. Our church usually has BBQ Beef, rolls, salad & desert, & today I made Cranberry Oatmeal cookies for my desert contribution. I started doing this about 2 years ago, & the first desert I made was a chocolate eclair torte..... I remember because the little elderly ladies that make the BBQ were all in the church kitchen & made such a fuss over it.....& that's how the totally mistaken notion that I'm a "wonderful" cook/baker was born! In truth, I hate to cook & I dislike (most of the time) baking as well! Tom can attest to that! If I ever won the lottery, the first thing I'd do is hire a cook! Ha! Once one of the ladies actually called "to get the recipe for those delicious cookies", & I had to tell her it was just a package mix! She laughed, & said she didn't blame me for not wanting to give out my "special" recipe! I assured her it was from a pkg. mix but she didn't believe me! Another time, knowing I like "easy", Jennie sent me a picture she found on Pinterest with a note that said: "Mom--even YOU can make these! " Maybe some of you have seen it--you melt white chocolate in the microwave, then spoon it onto waxed paper in a circular shape, then before it hardens you put a yellow M&M in the center, & 2 thin pretzel strips along one edge & it's done! Can't get any easier than that! It looks like bacon & eggs, but it's candy. I made it several months ago for the meal program, & the little old ladies told me they had to confess that they each took a couple of pieces before they served it at the dinner & that the candy went like hot cakes! They said it was "because everything you make is so wonderful"! It just cracks me up as it's the only time I ever make anything at all! (that's why we have bakeries! ) Today's cookies are a package mix with dried cranberries added.
Tom says that although the ladies are all sweet, he thinks they must have dementia to think I'm such a superb baker.......I've often had the same thought!! Ha Ha! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.