Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

The Black Hole in the Backyard

Dear Diary,

I spotted a glowing white patch from the kitchen window. I knew what it was, a ground web, what I use to call a "fairy blanket" back in the day. I went out to look at it and this spider had created a perfect, round hole in it. I don't think I've seen a hole this large and pronounced before.

These spiders are called Funnel Spiders and the webs are not sticky like other spiders. The web attracts insects ( maybe it looks like a landing pad) and the little spider waits in the hole for the subtle movement on his "early warning system". He then jumps out with amazing speed to capture the intruder. Such drama in the backyard!

The little spider scooted into the abyss as soon as I go my camera focused...a bit shy perhaps? I love how the dew drops sparkle in the early morning light and as they burn off later in the day, the glistening white "blanket" turns a dove grey...very inviting to a passing insect I would suspect.

Just another moment of common enchantment...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.