Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The End Of The Cactus Flowers (Maybe!)

I really believe this Grizzly prickly pear is the latest cactus to bloom for any of my cacti. Ever. It beat 2013, anyway.

Maybe it has been the weekly watering instead of waiting for the fickle monsoon storms, which have been few and far between at my house this year. In fact, I hired Brad, not only to water but to pull the weeds which inevitably grow as a result of the thunderstorms, but there has been nary a one!

I even see another bud (I think) beginning to develop on the Golden Torch cactus, seen recently. That one generally blooms twice, tops, each year. Again would make about four or five times (I've actually lost count).

My biggest disappointment this year has been my Beavertail prickly pear. It produced only one flower. It will be generously fed beginning every week in February next year.

As will all of the succulents, with something called Cactus Juice, with the exception of the saguaro in the corner. I want that one to grow slowly, because unless I move it, it will eventually block my view of the mountains!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.