Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

If I Flap My Wings Enough...

will I dry off?  asked the house finch of himself. 
He had just done his frolicking in the dish water when he hopped upon the rock and started shaking and flapping wildly.

Not much going on today, kind of a quiet Friday.  I am going to see if I can get hair and nail appointments but it may be too late.  Too much of a procrastinator. 

My friend, the State Senator, has invited me to be her guest at the first football game of the season for the University of Arizona next Thursday night.  I will be in the University President's sky box with oodles of dignitaries.  I'm really excited to go. U of A athletics rocks this city.

It seems as though ever since those couple of Rufous hummingbirds stumbled upon my backyard there  has been nothing but chaos there.  It's probably a good thing I hung the second feeder.  it gives the birds who have been here all summer a chance to get nectar a little bit longer before being run off.

The odd thing is that after chasing away the others, the Rufous doesn't come in to the feeder.  They simply fly away somewhere, to a perch out of my sight; where they lie in wait for their "enemies" to try to drink, as is their right.

Have a good weekend everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.