Wo die Blumen sind

By Rebelblume

The island Marken

Hello dear Blipfriends, apologies for staying away for so long! I'm looking through your journals and amazed the beauty of your photos. And noticing how all have improved even more, if that's possible. Even if I don't leave comments, I do look!

My cycling/camping holiday in Germany was wonderful! I'll upload the photos in my blipfolio soon. I cycled 500 kms altogether, some in the heat on tiny forest paths uphill. People everywhere were so kind, whenever I needed anything at all, help would appear out of nowhere. Like the time I encountered a high wooden bridge with steps going up across a stream in the meadows, had not seen any other people around for a while. I was about to unload my luggage of the bicycle when a voice by my shoulder said: "Can I help you?" and a kind man lifted my bike and carried it to the other side for me!

Since then I've been back to work and also had lots of friends visiting and staying for a while. This is the former island (now peninsula) of Marken, just outside Amsterdam on the IJsselmeer, the former South Sea. Two friends from New York city braved their jetlag and came to enjoy the special light here. (and some special beer and pancakes!).

A rare digital picture, I had my phone with me. Since I started Blipfoto (using only my old sony phone) I've now acquired about 7 cameras, the latest one a compact analogue Leica for 25 euros :-) Tomorrow I'm starting a new direction in my job, half of the week from now one I'll be working with film and photography with kids. Since I don't take a photo a day anymore, but am waiting for film roll to be developed and then waiting till I feel like scanning them in over several hours, I won't be blipping in the regular way. But I hope you don't mind I drop in every so often.

Hope you are well and life is treating you kindly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.