Day at sea

Well, our cruise is nearly over and we are now homeward bound with two days at sea.

You either love these days or loath them, regarding the opportunity to get to know your fellow passengers as a bonus or you bury your head in a book and hope you don’t have to make polite conversation with total strangers.

Well today I am determined to take advantage of all that’s offered with the on board entertainment though I draw the line at bingo.

After breakfast it’s straight to the fitness room for a yoga session taken by one of the young male dancers who has a body like a piece of elastic.
(Memo to self- must loose weight so I too can learn to tie myself in knots.)

A couple of hours in the ships library should have followed, except I got waylaid by some new friends and end up drinking hot chocolate with them.

Undeterred by this morning’s lack of self improvement I move at 12 noon to the lounge where the ships choir are in rehearsal under Richard Sykes, cruise director, a multi talented man noted for his enthusiastic approach to all things musical.

I creep in at the back and hope he cannot hear my squeaky voice.

Today we are learning the South African national anthem.
Except the words are a combination of several African tribal dialects.

Bur within half an hour he has us giving a very good rendition of this remarkable anthem.

Even I am impressed.

After a quick lunch there followed some afternoon cabaret where Richard did his bawdy rendition of Tom Lehrer songs.
Then the afternoon took on more serious note with a lecture on the Hanseatic League.

And much more of the same.


I shall be going home for a rest.



(Apologies for lack of comments. I fear we have very expensive and erratic Wi-Fi.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.