Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Newport View From Gaer Iron Age Hill Fort

I was sleeping before midnight and the next thing it was nearly 9.30am; I must have been tired. I'm a firm believer your body will get the rest one way or another - it'll catch up on you. When I was working full time, doing shifts and overtime, I used to go on holidays and sleep, sleep, sleep. It's embarassing to hear the maid deliberately banging in the corridor as she wants to clean.

Well, I haven't done much today except potter around the house. I booked a couple of nights away in Otley, Yorkshire, in October so we can meet up with some friends (retired teachers) who we meet on our first cruise in November 2006. They have no children, and I've never known people holiday like them. They are out of the UK every year for at least 9 months, tripping everywhere. We meet them on a near 4 week cruise of The Far East (China/Japan/Vietnam/Singapore, etc etc) With hindsight it was totally the wrong cruise to do as a first one. They live in Chorley and will be home from a three week holiday on 16th October so we will catch them before they fly off again. Quite often we book a dinner/B&B deal with leisure facilities. We go off walking and then on return the wife will swim a mile! I'm looking forward to seeing them again. Last time we meet up in Wakefield.

I needed to get out for a hour and popped to the Gaer Hill Fort which overlooks Newport and Cardiff. I saw a couple of helicopters that are obviously to do with NATO that is on this Thursday and Friday.

The blip photo shows part of the view over South Newport towards the Bristol Channel and Uskmouth Power Station.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.