Wendywoo2

By Wendywoo2

An interesting few days

I will add more later but can you guess where I am?

I am actually in hospital! Not some of the nicer places that were suggested.

This summer at the beginning I made a vow that once I finished I would make a real effort with blip and post daily because the stress of work had finished for the term. As usual I am here apologising because I didn't manage my aim! What with my workload still from school, and from my dissertation my entire summer has been focused on work. But also the constant pain from my leg left me with a major distraction and little patience. So I managed a few posts and once out of hospital I will post some from our holiday in Cornwall last week.

But the holiday ended with me quite poorly and getting back from holiday and straight to the docs. He referred me to the medical assessment unit Saturday and have been there ever since. My GP wanted me to be investigated for a possible clot on my lung and with the trouble in my leg possible DVT. So have had many tests done since being here and have been monitored as there were concerns with the oxygen level in my blood and my breathing - which was my indication something was wrong. Have had a meeting with a consultant today and she seems to think because there is now no pain and my breathing problems came, went, came and stayed she thinks it might be stress related. So have had a in-depth chest scan today to make sure it's not clots, which I am being treated for anyway, and are awaiting results. If it is stress related then I will see a physio who will keep my breathing exercises to help. I am now off oxygen and my stats have been loads better. So I am hoping for some positive results but after feeling ghastly over the last few weeks today has been the day where I feel a little better, so I am hoping!

On a less technical note this whole experience emotionally has been somewhat frightening. It's a very lonely experience being in hospital and makes you think a lot about things. You are having to put trust in someone else, a stranger and hope they find what's wrong and can help. But also the waiting for news is excruciating - you desperately want them to arrive to know either way but when they turn up you don't want to hear the news in case it's bad. I know others have been in worse situations and are more poorly than I am, but this is the worst that has happened to me and it's scared me and I have been left frightened and alone at times. I can't wait to get home to my own bed and my own surroundings.

So sorry for the lack of posts but this summer has been a weird one for me - spending most of it in pain or working. And it's weird not starting the new term with everyone else tomorrow. So happy first day to all the school children and to all the teachers tomorrow. I will be thinking of all of you and wishing I was there rather than in my hospital bed!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.