15 days to go

YES is everywhere.

I noticed that all the way up to Ullapool yesterday and all the way down today. It is not that there aren't "NO Thanks " posters - there are, and some very big ones in fields and on private estate land - but they are massively outnumbered by the number of large and small YES signs which have appeared everywhere. I am told that in Ullapool alone there are over 70 at present in people's windows or on their houses and the number is growing every day.

So this montage tells a story. There were YES (and NO) cakes in the Tea Store, made by Holly and very tasty too. There were signs outside the two halls in which I spoke , including the new Braemore Hall where I held what was the first political meeting to take place in the building. There were YES signs on the moor road to Inverness, YES signs in every town and village and YES signs in fields.

I am also increasingly amazed by the engagement with the debate. When I saw my programme I was sceptical about public meetings scheduled for 1.00pm and 3.00pm. Who would come during the day ?

The answer was more than 60 in Ullapool and 35 in Braemore - comfortably filling most of the seats in both places. Some of those present were from the YES and NO camps but there were also good numbers of undecideds, keen to ask questions. Braemore in particular was one of the politest and most interesting public meetings I have done, thanks to the approach of those who attended.

I eventually got home after 9.00 pm having driven for 10 hours over two days. But it was worth it.

(One interloper in this montage . You get to seeing YES everywhere and I had to do a double take when drying my hands in the toilet of the Braemore Hall. YESS Electrical is nothing to do with the campaign, of course - it is a big on line retailer !)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.