Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Sky rocket...

I am shocked - more of which later!

I had access to one of our sites today to get more images for the forthcoming "What is it" quiz that young to be held at the corporate BU leaders meeting in a couple of weeks.

It's hard finding images that the non-technical people will have a chance of getting, but all too easy for to get challenging shots for some of the engineers that have brains the size of a planet. I've got 36 of which I expect 20 to be used.

I did come away with a few and also met a few more field engineers that I've not come across before. In addition, I think I've solved an outstanding issue that I've had for a few weeks regarding BBC Radio 1. There are many issue I hear you ask, but I had just the one…. It is now sorted - My issue, not Radio 1.

Anyhow, I got home, processed some of today's crop including this shot of the mast at Sutton Coldfield. Because I was inside the compound I could get right up to these cable stays. The steel ropes in that hold the mast up under tension are as thick as your wrist. They have upwards of 300 tonnes of tension in them. You don't want to be anywhere close if they fail. One cut a building clean in half at Emley Moor in 1969 and some of you may have seen recently on the BBC One-Show programme.

As I was settling down to do some proper work, my mobile went - it was the guy from the company that does all the corporate imagery. He had some of my images printed up at 3 x 1.8m one of which I blipped earlier in the year. Cutting a long story short, the corporate graphics consultancy saw some of my images and said they are much better than anything that the images he's been given through normal channels. They want me to look at doing images of all our major sites - We have lots! OMG!

More than that, they want an image straight away to adorn the wall of a restaurant area that is currently being constructed. This image is needed asap. This image is to be 1.8m high and 10m long!!!! They want me to do the image - Gobsmacked is not the word. They are going straight to my boss and, if necessary his boss (who I am doing the "What is it?" images for) to get approval for my time. Where do I start????

And I'm a major lens down - Gulp! Help!!

Here goes…...

BTW - This mast is 270.5m high. A tiddler - doesn't make the top ten UK tallest structures. It is still BIG!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.