Strange sayings.

Blame it on galloping senility if you like, I know he will, but I can never remember what I knew & what I've picked up in the 30+years since we came to Penrith. Hell, how long does it take to be thought of as a "local"?
One ex-colleague in the Fire service used to refer to something being
"As full as a Gull's egg". I'm always at a loss to see why a Gull's egg should be any more full than anybody else's.
The same goes for the idea of being ...
"As fat as a fell frog."
If this critter isn't as fat as a fell frog I don't know what is. In fact I wonder if it's Dad had a liaison with a toad, coz I'm sure I've NEVER seen a frog quite that rotund before.
Stranger still is the fact that I know, for a fact, that the greenhouse is populated by another, nearly as big PLUS at least 2-3 others which must be, guessimetrically, last year's. If not they've "certainly grew some" as an American friend of ours once said of my hirsute sibling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.