Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

"I'm forever blowing bubbles...."

Dear Diary,

Back to the pond. It is like a magnet for me. It draws me in and I need to see what's happening around its shores. This little pickerel frog seemed to be enjoying a bubble bath! At first I thought, "Is it laying eggs?" but no, they were just bubbles. Way too late in the season for egg laying. I did think it a bit comical and wondered where all the bubbles were coming from. When I went back, a couple of hours later, they and the little frog were gone.

The Pickerel Frog is the only poisonous frog in Maine but it is only mildly toxic to humans The pond has been a real eduction for me. I'm always curious about what I find but mostly it is just a place sit and marvel at.

Mystery and wonder greet me every time I visit the pond. Perhaps that is why I love to visit. Glaring reality I can get when I turn on the evening news. At the pond I can rest in a sublime state of appreciation. I don't need to know the answers I can just sit in a quiet communion with a wonder filled landscape that always treats me to a small moment of enchantment.

Never say there is nothing beautiful in the world anymore. There is always something to make you wonder in the shape of a tree, the trembling of a leaf.

-Albert Schweitzer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.