Littlepat

By Littlepat

First midwife appointment

So the day has come. First midwife appointment....I was very excited but a little worried. For some reason this time I have a bigger fear that something will go wrong, not sure why. Maybe because it feels so different from my first pregnancy but then everyone says its different every time.

So at the first appointment they take several blood samples to test for various things. Immunity to certain things and blood type etc. I have learnt that doesn't hurt as much if you relax. Blood pressure taken its fine. Weight done, within acceptable range - thank goodness. Height done, not changed since first time ( !?). Chatted over my concerns about my heart and hips. So I have been referred to the cardiologist as a precautionary measure but also to put together a plan for birth. I am pleased as this means a birth plan will be done for me, it won't be me making the choices the professionals will tell me what I can and can't do. I have already been told by my midwife that I will not be allowed to push for over an hour, this is a good thing as it gives me a focus the bad thing if baby not out by then its Caesarian time.

Still not sure how I feel about a Caesarian. Scared but just want what's best for baby then myself. So we will wait and see.

Apart from that morning sickness is still making its presence felt. I wake each morning at 2am feeling awful. After a ginger biscuit or two I feel a bit better after about half an hour. Then it's back to sleep.

Now comes the good part telling my parents... Mmm how to break the news?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.